Former EU Digital Agenda Commissioner Neelie Kroes Joins Salesforce Board

Add Your Comments

Former European Commissioner Neelie Kroes has been appointed to the Salesforce board of directors effective May 1, 2016.

Currently a Special Envoy for StartupDelta, a public/private partnership to build a startup ecosystem in the Netherlands, Kroes formerly served as Commissioner for Digital Agenda, where she worked with startups in Europe through initiatives such as open API platform FI-WARE. She also worked to bring more transparency to cloud service level agreements and contracts during her stint as European Commission vice president.

“We are delighted to have Neelie Kroes join our Board of Directors,” Marc Benioff, chairman and CEO, Salesforce said in a statement. “She is an amazing and respected leader who has done extraordinary work at the highest levels of government, technology policy and business in Europe. Salesforce will benefit greatly from her broad experience across both the public and private sectors.”

Read more: Heroku Launches Private PaaS with Salesforce App Cloud

With Kroes background, perhaps Salesforce will tap her experience to grow its Salesforce for Startups program, which launched in 2014 to “educate tech startups on the breadth of products offered by Salesforce.”

Salesforce Ventures could also be an area where Kroes’ knowledge comes in handy, too, particularly as it has committed to spending $100 million investing in European startups.

Kroes said it is an honor for her to serve on the 12-person Salesforce board of directors, which includes Benioff and newly appointed Salesforce COO Keith Block.

“Salesforce is one of the world’s most admired companies and a leader in digital transformation for business,” Kroes said in a statement.

Here is the full list of Salesforce board members with the addition of Kroes:

  • Marc Benioff, Salesforce chairman and CEO
  • Salesforce COO Keith Block
  • Craig Conway, former PeopleSoft CEO
  • Alan Hassenfeld, former chairman and CEO of Hasbro
  • General Colin Powell, former US Secretary of State
  • Sanford Robertson, principal of Francisco Partners
  • John Roos, former US Ambassador to Japan
  • Lawrence Tomlinson, former SVP and treasurer of Hewlett-Packard
  • Robin Washington, CFO of Gilead Sciences
  • Maynard Webb, chairman of Yahoo
  • Susan Wojcicki, YouTube CEO

Add Your Comments

  • (will not be published)