January 9, 2008 -- (WEB HOST INDUSTRY REVIEW) -- Web hosting provider Network Solutions (networksolutions.com) says it isn't "front-running" domain names, contrary to reports that claim otherwise, and that the practice that triggered the accusation is actually an attempt to counteract front-running from external threats.
Front-running occurs when a company or individual registers a domain immediately after a prospective buyer searches to see if it's available, which gives the registrar an advantage because he can then prevent the customer from purchasing through a competing registrar and sell it at an inflated price.
Reports of Network Solutions' actions surfaced on Tuesday when discussions began popping up on various discussion boards on Slashdot, DomainNameNews and DomainState and customers and readers alike commented on the questionable practice.
In a statement released by the company, Jonathon Nevett, VP of policy at Network Solutions says that what it is doing is a pre-emptive security measure to protect customers from domain tasters and that Network Solutions is providing them the, "opportunity to register domains they have previously searched for without the fear that the name will already be taken through front-running."
According to reports, ICANN has been contacted with concerns about this issue but says that although it believes what Network Solutions is doing to be an unethical business practice, it is legal for the company to monitor and collect WHOIS information from different domain names and either sell it or use it directly.
So, their response is to claim "we're saving our customers from the front-runners by, um, front-running ourselves"?
It's nothing but a scam to ensure that, once you've searched for a domain via their search facility, they hold it to ransom so you must buy it from them (or wait 4 days and risk it being snapped up by someone else). posted by: David Precious | January 09, 2008 02:00PM
And their front running fee is $28 more than buying at GoDaddy. Ya, gotta love the marketing genius behind this at NeverGonnaWorkSolutions.com. Someone should register that. I think the only way people will forgive this, is if the person responsible is fired, and made public. We will let everyone know the danger and risk of using netsol. posted by: hag | January 09, 2008 03:04PM
I don't understand how I did a search 2 days ago at netsol and yesterday the domain was purchased by an unknown. Now all other registrars point me to afternic to purchase it at over $ 200.00 and netsol wants $ 35.00 to buy it from them....My guess is someone or netsol might be selling search inquires done thru netsol. So I beleive netsol needs to clean up their act or plug their leak. The other thing is this may not be illegal but I will never buy anyhing from them or ever do another search on netsol....... posted by: rutroe | January 18, 2008 04:47PM